Can I store an 2018 Evoque for 4 months?

This is a discussion on Can I store an 2018 Evoque for 4 months? within the Evoque Forum forums, part of the Evoque Discussions category; Hi, Im new to RR Evoques and am contemplating purchasing a second hand one for my holiday home. There are often long breaks whereby I ...

Member #

Hi, Im new to RR Evoques and am contemplating purchasing a second hand one for my holiday home. There are often long breaks whereby I dont get to visit the house, sometimes these are around 4 months. This would be a holiday car that Id like to use immediately on arrival and dont want any hassles getting it running on arrival.
    Is there a way the battery can stay charged for this long? Can I disconnect/reconnect easily? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. # ADS
    Ads

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Welcome to the forum!

If you do nothing your battery will be dead long before 4 months. The best thing to do is purchase of "float charger", commonly called a battery maintainer, NOT a trickle charger.

It appears you are not in the US so I can't recommend a manufacturer. Most battery maintainers come with a two part cable. One part is permanently attached to the battery, it has a quick connect fitting on the other end, that can be easily connected/disconnected to the charger. Will improve battery life over just disconnecting the battery.

Of course, this assumes the Evoque will be parked indoors, with access to an AC power source

Member #