Difference in acceleration after installing new wheels

This is a discussion on Difference in acceleration after installing new wheels within the Evoque Wheels & Tires forums, part of the Land Rover Evoque Garage category; Hi,Just installed a new set of rims with tires (20x9 rims with 255/45-20 tires) on my Evoque and the car feels a bit different while ...

Member #

Hi,Just installed a new set of rims with tires (20x9 rims with 255/45-20 tires) on my Evoque and the car feels a bit different while accelerating (slower acceleration). The original rims were 19x8 with 235/55-19 tires. I'm thinking it's due to the larger wheel size and weight. Has anyone experienced the same issue? Thanks

2. # ADS
    Ads

Member #
    Not that I'm an expert, but the car, regardless of wheel size, is engineered for a certain diameter tire/wheel combination. In other words, going to a 20 inch rim, you need tire with a smaller sidewall. With larger outside diameter, the engine and transmission are both
    working harder. Maybe need to have transmission software re-done. I'll bet your speedometer is off too. Just a thought, like I said, I'm no expert. Good luck.

Member #
    Doing the math, you have a smaller rolling circumference with your 20" rims because of the '45' profile tire side wall. This should result in a slight feeling of lower gearing, more punch in each gear, shift points at a lower speeds, and higher rpm's than before to maintain a cruising speed (speedometer registering a slightly higher inaccurate speed.) The rim weight (increase?) is insignificant when considering acceleration. This would only affect aggressive handling but you are not going for best lap times driving your Evoque.

5. Remove Advertisements
    EvoqueForums.net
    Advertisements

Member #